Emergency Ban on Excessive Rent Increases Takes Effect in Nine California Counties, after Wildfires

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

California’s statewide tenants’ rights organization warned on Wednesday that double-digit rent increases following recent wildfires violate Penal Code 396, the state’s anti-price gouging laws. The cap on rent increases was triggered by the Governor’s declarations of states of emergency in nine counties due to wildfires. Tenants Together is holding a webinar at 10am-11am on October 26, 2017, for media, policymakers, lawyers, and organizers on the issue. To sign up for the webinar, visit http://bit.ly/RentBan

In the Bay Area, where affordable housing is already scarce, the fires have caused a surge in homelessness, as well as a sharp rise in demand for rental units. The price gouging law protects against landlords capitalizing on the heightened vulnerability of tenants.

On October 9, 2017, the Governor issued an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency because of the wildfires in Napa and Sonoma Counties.  Also on October 9, 2017, the Governor issued a second Executive Order declaring a state of emergency in Butte, Lake, Mendocino, Nevada, and Orange Counties. On October 10, the Governor issued an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency in Solano County.

California Penal Code section 396 prohibits price gouging (defined as increases over 10%) for necessary goods and services after the governor declares a state of emergency. Housing – defined in the law as “any rental housing with an initial lease term of no longer than one year” is specifically enumerated as one of the services for which the price cannot be raised over 10%. The costs of hotel rooms are also covered by the law. Under the price gouging law, there is a narrow exception for price increases over 10% if the landlord proves that the increase is directly attributed to cost increases.

The prohibition on price gouging ordinarily lasts 30 days from the declaration but can be extended by the Governor or locally.  Equally importantly, “an official, board, or other governing body vested with authority to make such a declaration” at the local level can declare a state of emergency triggering the price gouging law, and renew it for 30 days at a time. Tenants Together is urging local government officials impacted directly or indirectly by the fire displacement to pass such declarations.

Tenants who face rent increases over 10% in areas where the state of emergency has been declared should seek help immediately.  Resources include local legal aide offices and local district attorneys. Price gouging tenants is not just a civil violation, but a criminal misdemeanor under the law.

On October 9th, the Attorney General Becerra issued Consumer Alert on price gouging, stating:

“Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to criminal prosecution that can result in a one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Violators are also subject to civil enforcement actions including civil penalties of up to $5,000 per violation, injunctive relief, and mandatory restitution. The Attorney General and local district attorneys can enforce the statute.”

“The law says what it says and bars rent increases over 10% following the Governor’s declaration of a state of emergency,” said Dean Preston, Executive Director of Tenants Together, California’s statewide organization for renters’ rights.  “Landlords planning to gouge tenants who are desperate for housing should think twice.” 

Tenants with questions on their rights may call the Tenants Together Hotline at (888) 495-8020. A tenants’ rights fact sheet will also be released next Thursday, October 26th in conjunction with the webinar. Victims of price gouging can file a complaint through the Attorney Generals Office’s website or call (800) 952-5225.

 

 

Prohibición de emergencia de incrementos excesivos en los arriendos entra en efecto después de los incendios en nueve condados de California.

Miércoles, octubre 18, 2017

Las organizaciones de derechos de los inquilinos a lo largo de California alertaron el miércoles que incrementos de dos dígitos en los arriendos después de los recientes incendios, violan el código penal 396, las leyes anti usura. El límite en los arriendos fue impulsado por la declaración del gobernador de estado de emergencia en 9 condados debido a los incendios.

En el Área de la Bahía, donde la vivienda asequible es realmente escasa, los incendios han causado un incremento en la indigencia, así como un incremento marcado en la demanda de viviendas de alquiler. Las leyes contra los precios de usura protegen contra los propietarios que quieran aprovecharse de la aumentada vulnerabilidad de los inquilinos.

El 9 de octubre, 2017, el gobernador expidió una Orden Ejecutiva declarando un estado de emergencia debido a los incendios en los condados de Napa y Sonoma. En la misma fecha, el gobernador expidió una segunda Orden Ejecutiva declarando el estado de emergencia en los condados de Butte, Lake, Mendocino, Nevada y Orange. El 10 de octubre, el gobernador expidió una Orden Ejecutiva declarando estado de emergencia en el condado de Solano.

El Código Penal de California, sección 396, prohíbe la usura en los precios, definida como un incremento de más del 10%, para bienes necesarios y servicios después de que el gobernador declare un estado de emergencia. La vivienda, definida por la ley como “cualquier unidad de alquiler con una contrato inicial de no más de un año” es enumerada específicamente como uno de los servicios cuyo costo no puede ser elevado más del 10%. Los costos de los cuartos de hotel también están cubiertos por la ley. Bajo la ley de precios de usura hay una estrecha excepción al incremento en los precios por encima del 10% si el propietario demuestra que dicho incremento se puede atribuir directamente al incremento en los costos.

La prohibición en precios de usura normalmente dura 30 días desde el momento de la declaración pero puede ser extendida por el gobernador o localmente. Igualmente importante, un oficial, una junta u otra entidad gubernamental revestida con la autoridad para hacer tal declaración a nivel local, puede declarar un estado de emergencia activando la ley de usura y renovarla por 30 días más cada vez. Tenants Together está urgiendo a los gobiernos locales de las zonas afectadas directa e indirectamente por los incendios a que pasen dichas declaraciones.

 

Los inquilinos que sufran incrementos en el arriendo de más del 10% en áreas donde se ha declarado estado de emergencia, deben buscar ayuda inmediatamente. Los recursos incluyen oficinas locales de ayuda legal y fiscales de distrito locales. Bajo la ley, cobrar precios de usura a los inquilinos no es solo una violación civil sino un delito criminal.

El 9 de octubre, el  Fiscal General Becerra expidió una Alerta al Consumidor sobre precios de usura diciendo:

“Los violadores del estatuto de precios de usura serán procesados criminalmente lo cual puede resultar en reclusión en una cárcel del condado y/o una multa de hasta $10,000. Los violadores también serán sujetos a la aplicación de multas civiles de hasta $5,000 por violación. El Fiscal General y abogados locales del distrito pueden aplicar el estatuto”.

“La ley dice lo que dice y prohíbe los incrementos al arriendo de más del 10% después de la declaración de emergencia por parte del gobernador”, dijo Dean Preston, Director Ejecutivo de Director of Tenants Together, la organización a nivel estatal de arrendatarios de California. “Los propietarios que estén planeando abusar de los arrendatarios desesperados por vivienda deben pensarlo dos veces”.

Los inquilinos con preguntas sobre sus derechos pueden llamar a la Línea Directa de Tenants Together (888) 495-8020. Un documento con los derechos de los inquilinos será publicado este jueves, 26 de octubre. Las victimas de precios de usura pueden quejarse a la Oficina de Fiscales Generales website o llamar al (800) 952-5225.

Help build power for renters' rights:

Sign up for alerts